AACPD Candidate – Abramowicz

A. Elisabeth Abramowicz, MD, FASA

Westchester Medical Center

Biography (abridged) with Current Committee membership

            Education, Appointments:

1975  M.D. Medical University of Warsaw, Poland

1980  Board certified in Anesthesiology, Poland

1984-87  Residency in Anesthesiology, Beth Israel Med. Ctr./Mount Sinai system, New York, NY

1987-88  Fellowship in Neuroanesthesia, SUNY Downstate, Brooklyn NY

1988 – 1993  Assistant Prof. of Anesthesiology SUNY Downstate

1989 – ABA (American Board of Anesthesiology) Diplomate

1993  Associate Professor of Anesthesiology with Tenure, SUNY Downstate, Brooklyn, NY

1996 – 2002: Associate Prof. of Anesth., Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, New Brunswick, NJ

            Clinical Director, Anesthesia

2002 – 2007: private practice at St. Barnabas Medical Center, Livingston, NJ

2007 – 2015: Associate Professor of Anesthesiology (and Neurosurgery), Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Division and Fellowship Director of Neuroanesthesia, Montefiore Med. Ctr., Bronx, NY

2016 – 2019: Associate Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology, New York Medical College, Valhalla, NY

2016 – present: Residency Program Director at Westchester Med. Ctr., Valhalla, NY

2019 – present: Clinical Professor of Anesthesiology, NYMC 

2022 – V-Chair for Education


PGA: 2nd V-Chair of Scientific Program Committee (2022)

Chair – Scientific Poster and Exhibit Committee 2019-2021

CME, QI and Academic Anesthesiology Committee member. 

Delegate, District 3


Committee on Neuroanesthesia – adjunct member since 2014, expires 2023

Committee on Medical Students and Residents – member since 2018, expires 2024


32 PUBMED-listed Journal articles 

44 posters/abstracts

7 book chapters

2 invited articles, and web-based educational and CME modules on Acute Ischemic Stroke anesthetic management; 4 national society newsletter Neuroanesthesia update articles


2 international, 8 national and 23 regional, 16 intramural presentations

            Awards (while at NYMC/WMC): 

NYMC Student Senate Award for Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring – 2019

Excellence in Clinical teaching Award at WMC – 2019

NYMC SOM Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring Dean Award “Honorable Mention” – 2021

AOA NY Iota Chapter Faculty initiate – 2021